How to download an electricity usage file from your provider

If your household is fitted with a smart meter, then your electricity consumption is being metered in 30 minute intervals and you are able to request that data from your electricity retailer or distributor.

Retailers and distributors are required to provide interval data to customers within 10 working days of receiving a request.

Some retailers and distributors have online portals where you may be able to directly download your consumption file in a matter of minutes. For other retailers and distributors, you may be required to call or email the customer service centre to obtain your consumption file.

Please refer to the table below to find out what options your retailer and distributor provides.

Electricity retailer Available from their call centre Available from their website portal Example of consumption file Electricity retailer’s website address
AGL Energy Yes Yes AGL Energy example
www.agl.com.au
AlintaEnergy Yes No AlintaEnergy example
www.alintaenergy.com.au
Blue NRG Yes No Blue NRG example
www.bluenrg.com.au
Click Energy Yes No Not Currently Available
www.clickenergy.com.au
Diamond Energy Yes No Diamond Energy example www.diamondenergy.com.au
Dodo Power & Gas Yes No Dodo P&G example www.dodo.com
EnergyAustralia Yes No EA example
www.energyaustralia.com.au
ERM Power Yes Yes ERM Power example www.ermpower.com.au
Lumo Energy Yes Yes Lumo Energy example
www.lumoenergy.com.au
Momentum Energy Yes No Momentum Energy example www.momentumenergy.com.au
Neighbourhood Energy Yes No Neighbourhood Energy example www.neighbourhood.com.au
Origin Energy Yes No
Origin Energy example
www.originenergy.com.au
People Energy Yes No Not Currently Available www.peopleenergy.com.au
Powerdirect Yes No Not Currently Available www.powerdirect.com.au
Powershop Yes No Not Currently Available www.powershop.com.au
QEnergy Yes No Not Currently Available www.qenergy.com.au
Red Energy Yes No Red Energy example www.redenergy.com.au
Simply Energy Yes No Simply Energy example www.simplyenergy.com.au
Electricity distributor Available from their call centre Available from their website portal Example of consumption file Electricity distributor’s website address
CitiPower / Powercor Yes No CitiPower/Powercor example www.powercor.com.au
Jemena Yes Yes Jemena example www.jemena.com.au
AusNet Services Yes Yes AusNet Services example www.ausnetservices.com.au
United Energy Yes Yes United Energy example www.unitedenergy.com.au

How to upload an electricity usage file to Switch On’s Victorian Energy Compare

If you would like to obtain your electricity usage file and upload it to Switch On’s Victorian Energy Compare, then you need to:

  1. have had your smart meter for 12 or more months as Victorian Energy Compare requires 12 months of Smart Meter data
  2. obtain a file from your electricity retailer or distributor (either by downloading from their website, or by contacting their service centre)
  3. upload your usage file to Victorian Energy Compare via the ‘Upload your usage file’ option.

Victorian Energy Compare requires the file to have a minimum of 12 continuous and complete months. Victorian Energy Compare will not be able to accept all files, so it may help to tell your retailer or distributor that you require your consumption data for the purpose of uploading into Victorian Energy Compare.